Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

2016 Board 31 banquet

The annual Board 31 banquet was held April 8 at the Yankee Pedlar Inn in Holyoke. Board members hosted our scholarship winners, their parents and coaches; our sportsmanship winner head coaches and captains; and numerous past board presidents.

The evening began with a social hour featuring a free beverage token and a cheese, crackers and fruit platter. Members congratulated scholarship winners Megan Goncalves (Pope Francis High School) and Riley Held (East Longmeadow HS). Sportsmanship winner Longmeadow HS (boys and girls programs) was represented by boys coach Patrick Murphy, a girls assistant coach and several players.

Banquet chair Odete Tome-Wells continued the scholarship raffle and gathered numerous prizes. Members Joe Zazarro, Mike Shirley, Odete Tome-Wells, David Wright, Chris Brown, Owen Shanahan, Kevin Ferriter and Tim Provost helped supply items, while St. Mary boys coach Joe Molta (Molt’s Liquors, Westfield) provided a wine and cheese basket for the raffle.

Their efforts resulted in a fun time and $440 for the scholarship fund. Thanks, Odete and assistants!

Following a welcome by president Brian Page and an excellent buffet dinner, chair Chris Brown presented the Sportsmanship Award to the Longmeadow boys and girls coaches, with a short acceptance speech. Chair John Gagnon then presented scholarships to Goncalves — with words of praise and support from her coach and an acceptance speech by Megan — and Held, who also gave an acceptance speech.

Page then presented the Hickson Award for board service to Chuck Elias, and accepted it on Chuck’s behalf.

Past president Dan Burke (’78) then introduced past president Michael Deary (’89), and presented him with the 2016 IAABO Board 31 Life Member Award. Mike entertained the gathering with anecdotes and observations from his many years in coaching and officiating.

Past presidents in attendance
1972 – Lou Casagrande – 2014 IAABO Board 31 Life Member
1978 – Dan Burke
1983 – Saul Finestone – 2015 IAABO Board 31 Life Member
1987 – Henry Kozloski
1989 – Mike Deary – 2016 IAABO Board 31 Life Member
1993 – Ray Ferro
1995 – Chris Kuhn
1997 – Art Lynch
2005 – Bob Galiatsos
2011 – Tom Zukowski
2013 – Keith Scarlett
2015 – Joe Lavoie